Amalaki Ekadashi admin March 17, 2023

Amalaki Ekadashi

Ekadashi means eleven in sanskrit, it refers to the eleventh day of waxing and waning moon of the vedic lunar calendar. Ekadashi day falls twice in each month.

Ekadashi day is of great importance and keeping a fast on this day holds significance. This is a day dedicated to Sri Hari ( Lord Vishnu ) and it is advised to avoid eating grains on Ekadashi .

Rice is not to be cooked nor to eaten on Ekadashi. One must try to eat light and must try to observe fast by just consuming milk and fruits. The main idea is to pray more on Ekadashi.

Every Ekadashi is unique and has a story associated with it, reading the significance of the particular Ekadashi is also suggested in the scriptures.

Ekadashi day is also a good day to remind us to devote more time in spirituality and mantra Jaap.

In addition, it has been medically proven that fasting is beneficial for the Human body.

Shri Satyanarayana Puja is of great importance especially when performed on Ekadashi.

When SHRI SATYANARAYAN Katha /PUJA is done regularly, devotees overcome difficulties and problems in life, whether related to the current or previous birth. Shri Satyanarayana Puja is conducted in case of sufferings and illness. It fulfils the desires of the living beings and grants them good health and wealth. This Puja also protects us from the evil and teaches us to lead the path of truth and goodness.

Shri Satyanarayana Katha /Puja not only helps us in achieving our worldly and materialistic needs. But Shri Satyanarayana Katha /Puja also helps us in attaining a higher level and head towards Moksha.

Shri Satyanarayana Puja is considered highly auspicious and regularly performed by Hindu’s over the ages.

It is also mentioned in the scriptures, that Shri Satyanarayana Puja can be done only in Mrityu Lok (Earth). In other abodes, there is only NARAYAN Puja and not SATYANARAYAN Puja.

Hence we must make use of this opportunity that is specially imparted and must continue to do SHRI SATYANARAYAN PUJA regularly and forever till we are alive.

Ekadashi is an important Hindu observance where people fast on the 11th day of every lunar cycle (Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha) to seek blessings from Lord Vishnu. In 2023, there will be 24 Ekadashi fasts observed. Here is a list of all the different types of Ekadashi fasts and their corresponding dates in 2023:

  1. Pausha Putrada Ekadashi – January 7, 2023
  2. Shattila Ekadashi – January 22, 2023
  3. Jaya Ekadashi – February 6, 2023
  4. Vijaya Ekadashi – February 20, 2023
  5. Aamalaki Ekadashi – March 6, 2023
  6. Papmochani Ekadashi – March 21, 2023
  7. Kamada Ekadashi – April 5, 2023
  8. Varuthini Ekadashi – April 19, 2023
  9. Mohini Ekadashi – May 4, 2023
  10. Apara Ekadashi – May 19, 2023
  11. Nirjala Ekadashi – June 2, 2023
  12. Yogini Ekadashi – June 18, 2023
  13. Devshayani Ekadashi – July 2, 2023
  14. Kamika Ekadashi – July 18, 2023
  15. Shravana Putrada Ekadashi – August 1, 2023
  16. Aja Ekadashi – August 16, 2023
  17. Parsva Ekadashi – August 31, 2023
  18. Indira Ekadashi – September 14, 2023
  19. Padmini Ekadashi – September 30, 2023
  20. Parama Ekadashi – October 14, 2023
  21. Papankusha Ekadashi – October 30, 2023
  22. Rama Ekadashi – November 12, 2023
  23. Utpanna Ekadashi – November 28, 2023
  24. Mokshada Ekadashi – December 12, 2023

Each Ekadashi has its own significance and observances, and devotees fast and perform puja rituals to seek blessings from Lord Vishnu for health, wealth, and prosperity.